If you’re reading this article, then you’ve probably been thinking about deactivating your Facebook account. The question is: should you? There are many reasons why people might want to deactivate their accounts such as the fact that they don’t have time for it or they need a break from it.
However, if we look at the bigger picture and all of the benefits of having an account, there really isn’t any reason not to keep one.
If you’ve decided that you do want to deactivate your account, then here’s what you need to know.
- You’ll miss out on connecting with family and friends.
- You’ll miss out on knowing what’s going on in your favourite TV shows, news channels or musicians.
- Your profile will be deleted but photos you’re tagged in won’t be removed. So if you want to remove yourself from someone else’s photo, then you can do so by visiting the photo and doing it yourself.
- If you’re a Facebook advertiser, then your ads will be stopped immediately but you’ll be able to download an archive of the ads that you’ve already paid for up until the date when you deactivate your account.
- You won’t have access to apps or games that use Facebook login anymore after deactivation.
- If you have any friends who still use Facebook, then they’ll no longer be able to see your timeline.
If you still want to continue deactivating your account, some of the benefits people who’ve done this before includes:
- Space from social media.
- Improved time management skills .
- Less distraction,
- Increased focus on life activities outside of Facebook,
- More time with family and friends,
- A sense of relief once your account is gone for good,
- An increase in productivity when you get back to work or school after the break has ended.
If you’ve decided to still leave this interactive social media platform, here’s what you should do.
- Clock Facebook top right icon,
- Select the “Settings & Privacy” part
- Then click “Settings“
- You will be navigated to the “Your Facebook Information” column.
- Click this and find the option below saying the “Deactivation and Deletion” button
- Then select “Deactivate Account”, once you click this you will be redirected to another page to confirm the action.
- Choose between the two options facebook is giving you:
- Deactivate Account [Temporary]
- When you choose this one, your profile will temporarily be disabled but your name or photos are then removed from all your shared activities. The good news is that you can still use the Messenger application.
- Deactivate Account [Permanent]
- When you choose permanent action, you cannot restore your profile, information or content shared on the platform. All messages and Messenger will permanently be removed.
- Proceed with “Continue to Account Deactivation”
- Facebook will ask you to re-enter your password for confirmation.
- Click “Continue”
Note: You can choose how long you plan to deactivate your Facebook account. Reactivating it is easy, you just need to enter your email address associated with your Facebook account together with your set password.
In the event that you choose “Permanent” deletion, your account cannot be retrieved. So weigh your options properly and if Facebook is helping you out.